Into the Abyss

So, I’ve been busy lately, between comedy stuff and looking for a real job stuff (since no one is going to pay me to do this for a living), which is a mealy-mouthed excuse for the lack of posts. And of course, one of the most important things I’ve been busy with is rereading my old Deadjournal from Freshman and Sophomore year of college. The reason: WordPress has made it very easy to port that stuff over to this blog, and I thought, “hey, what a grand way to raise my post count and make me look like a long time blogger. I’ll make millions!”

Well hey, guess what, sorry, no. I got through about four or five months worth and nearly collapsed from embarrassment. It’s so whiny and emo and pathetic that I feel sorry for whoever had to read it (by accident, surely). Hopefully, my writing has gotten better since then. There were one or two interesting things, funny things even. But all in all, it was a great degree of whining about how my love life wasn’t going exactly to plan. What a wuss. Now that I’m reading Michael Palin’s Diaries,* I’m learning what a real diarist should do. And it isn’t that.

*Awesome collection of thoughts, if you were wondering. It’s been years since I’ve read a Monty Python book and it feels nice to get back in bed with them, almost like an old pet or something. Even though I know exactly what happened and there isn’t any suspense, it’ s quite an interesting perspective on meetings, shows, writing processes, and just the decade as a whole. I heartily recommend it, but if you want juicy details about infighting and whatever, you should look elsewhere. There’s a reason Michael Palin was called “The Nicest Python.”

I’m vaguely embarrassed by the whole thing, but I’m not going to take it down or anything. Heck, you can go read it and laugh and poke fun if you want. But I’m not going to give you the link.

2 Responses to “Into the Abyss”

  1. Michael Lynch Says:

    I like how your post detailing your shame about your history of being pessimistic and whiny opens with you moping and pretending that nobody’s ever going to pay you to write comedy.

    Link me to the old blog! I don’t have the URL anymore and I remember there were some good short fiction pieces there that I really liked.

  2. Damn, Kantro. Ease up on yourself kid. I think we’ve all been down with a case of the emos at one point or another.

    and what’s this “won’t get paid to write comedy” nonsense? no one’s getting paid for much these days. and many of our friends who are employed are unhappily employed. so yay free and unpaying comedy. boo jobs. am i right or am i right?

    xo,
    Fellow FoxStamp Murphette

Leave a Reply

