Standing O!

So, I’ve made the unilateral decision that our generation is too willing to give standing ovations. We give standing ovations to guys grounding out with two men on, as long as he “moved ’em up.” I hate standing ovations. I only stand if I really feel the situation calls for it. If you’re at a play in a 50 seat theater, at least 20 people are going to know someone in the cast. Once those 20 people stand up, it’s all over. Everyone else slowly rises, as if obligation. Don’t people understand this isn’t how it’s supposed to be? We’re supposed to be so excited by what we just saw that we can’t help but rise to our feet, cheering, yelling, clapping, etc. Why can’t we go back to only rewarding really great stuff with an ovation? From now on, I’m only standing if the situation calls for. Who cares if I’m the only one standing there, and it’s a bunch of second graders singing Christmas Carols? If they weren’t the best second graders ever, if they didn’t bring a tear to my eye, then they get polite applause and that’s it. I’m putting my foot down.

Leave a Reply

